Stop Regedit from remembering previous location

When starting regedit then it go to the registry-location, which it displayed last time before it was closed.

This behavior can be disabled with the following steps:
  1. Run Regedt32 (Not regedit) which enables you to set security for registry keys
  2. Go to this location:

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER \Software \Microsoft \Windows \CurrentVersion \Applets \Regedit]

  3. Find the entry "LastKey"
  4. Select the entry and from the menu select Security / Permissions
  5. Deny Full Control to the currently logged in user
More Info MS KB244004

Related Let regedit remember your registry favorites

Credits ntcanuck.com/tq

Updated: 23 September 2007

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *